Instructional Video Catalog:   Title Description

Eyes on The Prize is a gripping video history bringing together the events of the American civil rights struggle. The first six programs, Part I, tell the story of the fight for civil rights from 1954 to 1965: the triumphs and tragedies, pain and passions of blacks and whites in the American South as they tested their power to affect change. Churches, courtrooms, lunch counters and city buses all became battlefields as the weapons of non-violence and written law probed the boundaries of individual rights. Part II examines this new America: from community power in the schools to black power in the streets; from police confrontations in neighborhoods and prisons to political confrontation in city government; from the growing awareness of black pride to the human alienation of urban poverty. The story of the civil rights movement becomes the story of transformation in America.

Production Date:  Part I 1986, Part II 1989
Length:  14, 60-minute programs
Subject:  History Multicultural
Non-Members:  Not available
Titles in this Series:

Awakenings (1954-1956)
Fighting Back (1957-1962)
Ain't Scared of Your Jails (1960-1961)
No Easy Walk (1961-1963)
Mississippi: Is This America? (1962-1964)
Bridge to Freedom (1965)
Time Has Come, The (1964-1965)
Two Societies (1965-1968)
Power! (1966-1968)
Promised Land (1967-1968), The
Ain't Gonna Shuffle No More (1964-1972)
Nation of Law? (1968-1971), A
Keys to the Kingdom (1974-1980), The
Back to the Movement (1979-Mid-80's)


Copyright 2005 NETCHE Inc.